From Death to Life

Scripture: “I tell you the truth, whoever hears my word and believes Him who sent me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life.” John 5:24

Observations: This verse is simple, yet profound. Jesus simply states that whoever hears and believes receives eternal life. The moment a person believes in Jesus, he crosses over from death to life spiritually and begins living a life in Christ that will never end. Of all the various ways people try to obtain salvation or redeem themselves or get to heaven, Jesus makes it painfully simple—believe in Him as God’s son and the Savior of the world.

Application: Trust and obey. I need to remember that it is Jesus alone who saves me from sin and death. It is by grace through faith in Jesus that I have been redeemed and crossed over from death to life—that is, eternal life that I am in fact already living in Jesus. I need to remind myself daily of the simple truths of the Gospel, living in trust and obedience to my Heavenly Father. Continual reading and study of the Bible, fervent prayer, and relationships with other believers will help keep this Truth prominent in my mind.

Prayer: Lord, thank you for your grace, mercy, and incredible love that has given me eternal life through Jesus. Help me to remember that I’ve been saved through faith in the finished work of Jesus, not by my own righteousness or good works. Your grace alone has saved me. Lead me daily in the way I should go, filling me with trust and hope in You and Your perfect will. Help me to share the truth of Your love with others and to be gracious as You have shown me grace. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

Leave a Reply

