SOAP: for best results use daily

If you have been around “church people” most of your life like me, you have probably heard thousands of catch-phrases and sayings that are unique to the language of Christian-ese. Not least among them are various acronyms to help you be a better Christian. Some of them are complete nonsense and most are at least a little corny, but I came across one a while back that has actually been quite helpful. Its a simple acronym intended to help people with personal Bible study. The idea is to journal about a portion of your daily reading, connecting it to your life through reflecting on Scripture, Observations, Application, and Prayer (SOAP). I had been doing this consistently throughout much of 2014, but have gotten out of the habit (I know, I really should use SOAP daily!). I have decided to revisit some of my previous journal entries and share them with others. My hope is that you (my readers) will be encouraged in your faith by my personal thoughts and reflections.

Scripture: “Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful. And let us consider how we may spur one another on toward love and good deeds.” Hebrews 10:23&24

Observations:  As believers, we can confidently hold onto our faith and hope because we know the source of this hope is trustworthy. Believers also need to encourage each other into love and good deeds through thoughtful consideration. These verses stood out to me when I read them recently because they are an encouraging call to action as a response to God’s faithfulness.

Application:  Knowing that my faith and my hope are in a faithful God, I need to hold firmly to this hope–hope in the work of Jesus for my salvation, hope for the future of my own life and that of my family, and hope in God’s redemptive work in the world. As I hold onto this hope and trust in God, I ought to encourage other believers to do the same. The Lord did not call me to trust in Him all by myself; He called me into a community of people He has chosen to be His children–to love and trust Him and to share His tremendous gospel message with the world through their words, deeds, and entire lifestyles. Therefore, as a result of the grace, patience, and mercy shown to me by my Savior Jesus, I should in turn show grace, patience, and mercy to others as I consider how my influence may spur them on toward doing the good things God desires them to do. I should willingly enter into the process by which God is preparing them to accomplish His purposes, while recognizing that God is simultaneously using other people to prepare me to carry out His will in my own life.

Prayer: 

Lord, you are good and faithful and true. Your ways are higher than my ways and your thoughts are much greater than my thoughts. Though I see my life only as from below, you see everything from above, making perfect sense of all the pieces to your tremendous puzzle. I am thankful that I don’t have to know and understand everything about my life, but that I can confidently put my hope in you through the grace extended to me through Jesus. Lord, help me to see my life from your perspective and to consider how I can help others do the same, placing their trust in You. Amen. 

One thought on “SOAP: for best results use daily

  1. Move Those Mountains! says:

    That is brilliant! In fact there is a blogger whose posts follow this pattern and l had never put two and two together. Duh!

Leave a Reply

