10 Day Do Over Challenge

For the last 8 days, I have been working on a 10 Day Do Over Challenge by Jon Acuff. The idea is to identify one thing you would like to “do over” and work at it for at least 10 minutes per day for 10 consecutive days. With a time commitment as little as 100 minutes over the course of ten days, it is an exercise that is intended to be easily achievable and jump start the completion of much bigger goals. Nine days ago, I chose blogging as my do over challenge. I started this blog nearly two years ago and had barely updated it until January 1st of this year. I believed that no one would read it or not “enough” people would read it. I let my fear of failure and my insecurity hold me back from simply sharing my thoughts and ideas on a public platform. Thanks to this Do Over Challenge, I have posted to my blog 9 days in a row (this is #9) and have gathered a handful of new readers. It’s not been a huge success so far, but I have overcome some of my fears and have decided to write anyway. If no one reads, I will write anyway. If people read and don’t comment or give feedback, I will write anyway. If my readers hate what I’m writing and let me know in very colorful language, I will write anyway.

In order to keep growing as a blogger and as a writer, I have decided to further develop my skill of consistency. “Further develop” is a bit of an understatement, as I have been consistently inconsistent at many things in my life. But I am off to a good start with this blog and I intend to build on that momentum and keep doing short-term challenges to meet long-term goals and dreams. I want to post to this blog and write consistently, making a habit of sharing ideas and encouraging others as I develop my skills. I want to take good notes when I read awesome books, gather ideas in one place, and share my writing on a regular schedule. I want to keep writing in the mornings and get up early to give myself more time to write without taking time away from my wife and son (or breakfast). I want to develop more good habits and get rid of old ones. I want to chase my dream of being a published author and someone who changes people who change the world.

What skills are you working on? What practical steps are you taking this year to chase your dreams?

I would love to hear your answers in the comments section.

3 thoughts on “10 Day Do Over Challenge

  1. jeanicresol says:

    Sounds great! I hope you achieve your dream. It will also be a good influence for your son to see your process.
    I’m trying to improve a lot of skills at the moment (writing, drawing, coding and languages). To achieve this, I have some little goals laid out that I need to achieve every month, such as creating a short game, finishing one drawing and posting at least one blog post per month. It doesn’t sound like much, but I’m hoping that I will be able to achieve at least those goals, especially if life gets in the way.
    Good luck with your writing!

  2. I’ve challenged myself to write a poem out of the Merriam Webster Dictionary’s Word of the Day and it’s really challenging.

    Keep it up! Stay determined as you are and your dreams will be within your reach.
    Thank you for sharing it with us. 🙂

  3. I challenge you to: the 50 chunks of 2014 challenge! Here’s mine! Pass it on! http://sherylyangster.wordpress.com/2014/12/29/50-chunks-of-2014/

Leave a Reply

